Hall of Fame Sports and Distinguished Alumni Inductees recognized at the Liberty football game, from left: Amy Stearns Acton (alumni), Brittny Humphrey Johnson (track), David Fleischer (baseball), Doug Bryson (alumni), Gary Casey (baseball), and Greg Harrison (basketball).

Liberty High School was the setting for the 2019 Liberty Sports Hall of Fame and Liberty Leopard Alumni Association induction ceremony, held on Saturday, September 28, 2019. Six former student-athletes joined 112 members of the Sports Hall of Fame, while the Liberty Leopard Alumni Association inducted two members into its inaugural Distinguished Alumni Hall of Fame.

Distinguished Alumni honorees included Doug Bryson (’82) and Amy Stearns Acton (’84). Mr. Bryson is currently the Emergency Management Director for Spartanburg County in South Carolina while Dr. Acton is the The Director of Ohio’s Department of Public Health, appointed by Governor Mike DeWine in spring 2019.

The Liberty Sports Hall of Fame inductees included the following stellar former student-athletes: Gary Casey (’93 baseball), David Fleischer (’82 baseball), Russell Hake (’58 baseball), Greg Harrison (’98 basketball), Brittny Humphrey Johnson (’04 track) and Praveen Perni (’97 tennis).

Over 100 guests, including inductees, family, friends and former teammates converged on the Liberty campus to reminisce of their joyful times during high school and an enjoyable, heartwarming induction ceremony after dinner. Those inductees available were also recognized during half-time of the Liberty football game Friday night.